2002 Awards

Videographer Award of Excellence
Police Lt. Clark Morrow and CATV Production Specialist Thad Vessar received the Videographer Award of Excellence

Department of Defense "My Boss is a Patriot" Award
The City was presented with the ”My Boss is a Patriot” award from the Department of Defense National Committee of the Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve (ESGR) at the July 16 Council meeting

ATF Award
The Department of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms (ATF) presented a plaque to Fire Marshall Kent Harris and the Olathe Fire Department Bomb Squad for their assistance in August

HUD Score of 100%
Section 8 Rental Assistance Program employees were credited for HUD giving the Olathe Housing Authority a score of 100%, earning them a “High Performer“ status and allowing them to apply for additional fair share vouchers

HUD High Performer Status
The Olathe Public Housing Authority was awarded “High Performer” status from the U. S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) for receiving an overall score above 90%.  The program evaluation was based on four areas: management, financial, quality and upkeep of public housing units and tenant satisfaction

Outstanding Risk Control Award
The Olathe Housing Authority received an Outstanding Risk Control Award from the Housing Authority Insurance Group for implementing nine risk control standards, resulting in a credit on housing authority insurance premiums

Life Safety Achievement Award
The Residential Fire Safety Institute (RFSI) presented the 2002 Life Safety Achievement Award to the Olathe Fire Department.  The Life Safety Achievement Award recognizes local fire prevention activities that contribute to reducing the number of lives lost in residential fires

Metropolitan Chiefs and Sheriffs Assocation Awards
The Metropolitan Chiefs and Sheriffs Association and KMBC-TV honored several Olathe Police personnel for their actions during 2002.  Receiving a Bronze Award for Valor: Officers Ty Moeder and Brent Coup, Senior Patrol Officers Brad Caldwell and Kurt Skiles, and Sgt. Bart Branyon for their actions on the scene of an armed and suicidal individual.  Receiving a Certificate of Commendation: Officer Eric Yahn for his seizure of 246 pounds of cocaine during a traffic stop

American Legion Emergency Responders of the Year Award
Olathe Fire Captain Dave Diehl, Fire Apparatus Operator Jerry Meeks, and Firefighter Bob O’Sullivan each received the American Legion’s Olathe-based Emergency Responders of the Year Award for their critical emergency response in a life-saving situation

Voter Outreach Partner of the Year Award
The Olathe Youth Congress was awarded the Voter Outreach Partner Award from the Johnson County Election Office and Celebration of Patriotism Foundation for their efforts in encouraging voters to go to the polls.

APWA Awards
The Kansas City Metropolitan Chapter of the American Public Works Association (APWA) recognized Public Works Director Rick Biery and two city projects with top honors.  Rick was recognized on the chapter level as a “Top Ten Public Works Leader of the Year.”  The development of Calamity Line Park was recognized as "Public Works Project of the Year" in the small projects category.  The City also received the Public Works "Project of the Year Award" for medium-sized projects for renovation of our three neighborhood pools 

Volunteers of the Year Award
The Olathe Youth Congress was awarded the Volunteers of the Year Award from the Olathe Chamber of Commerce for their volunteerism efforts in the community

Fire Prevention Award
Fire Captain Jack Holcom was awarded the Fire Prevention Award from the Sons of the American Revolution

KRPA Outstanding Project Award
The Two Trails Skate Park received an Outstanding Project Award by the Kansas Recreation and Park Association (KRPA)

ICMA Carolyn Keane Award
Thanks to the efforts of Recreation Program Supervisor Sue Elliott and our outstanding Recreation staff, the City of Olathe, in partnership with Olathe District Schools, received the International City/County Management Association (ICMA) Carolyn Keane Award for Programs for the Disadvantaged for our Camp Rolling Along Program

Peak Performance - Gold Award
The Association of Metropolitan Sewerage Agencies recognized the Cedar Creek Waste Water Treatment Plant with a Peak Performance – Gold Award in recognition of excellence in wastewater treatment 

KWEA Award
The Kansas Water Environment Association (KWEA) also recognized the Cedar Creek Plant with the Class IV Plant Award for excellence in operations and maintenance

Digitally Savvy Cities Award
The Information Services Department was ranked 13th in the Most Digitally Savvy Cities by the Center for Digital Government

GFOA Certificate of Achievement
The Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA) awarded the Strategic Financial Management Department’s CAFR its Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reports for the 25th consecutive year.