2011 Awards


American Society for Training and Development - Kansas City Chapter Best Practice Award
The City of Olathe receives a 2011 Best Practice Award for Excellence in Workplace Learning and Performance Outcomes for the Supervisory Leadership Training Program.

AAA Community Traffic Safety Bronze Award
The Olathe Police Department Traffic Unit is presented the AAA Community Traffic Safety Bronze Award for setting standards of excellence in traffic safety.  Olathe is one of only two Johnson County Police Departments to receive the award.

American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC) of Kansas City Public Improvement Award
In partnership with GBA Architects, the City of Olathe is recognized in the "50,000 and above" population category for the South Cedar Creek Sewer Improvement project.  The award specifically recognizes the project for its benefits to the community, providing sewer service to developing areas that will support the BNSF Railroad's Intermodal Development in southwest Johnson County while protecting and enhancing the environment.

Center for Digital Government and Digital Communities Program Top Ranked Digital City
The City of Olathe is the top-ranked digital city government (125,000-249,000 population) according to the 11th annual "Digital Cities Survey."  Olathe was recognized for a number of cost-saving and citizen engagement projects ranging from the use of social media to hosting cross-jurisdictional 911 dispatch services in partnership with Johnson County Government.

Kansas City Business Journal ImpacT Award
The City of Olathe receives the 2011 ImpacT Award for leveraging technology to support its comprehensive health and wellness program, Olathe Works Well.  The award specifically recognizes Olathe's use of technology that allows vendor partners to share date and remain compliant with federal privacy laws for medical data security.

International Association of Crime Analysts (IACA) Membership Award
Crime Analyst Brian Mansfield receives the 2011 IACA Membership Award in recognition of his outstanding contributions in the crime analysis field.

National Association of Clean Water Agencies (NACWA) Peak Performance Awards
The Harold Street Wastewater Treatment Facility receives the Gold Award and the Cedar Creek Wastewater Treatment Facility receives a Silver Award in recognition of  complete and consistent National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permit compliance during the 2010 calendar year. 

Salt Institute Excellence in Storage Award
The City of Olathe Public Works Department is awarded the 2011 Excellence in Storage Award for environmental consciousness and effective management in the storage of winter road salt.  This is Olathe's fifth consecutive year for the recognition, and the only facility recognition in the state of Kansas for 2011.

Kansas Water Environment Association (KWEA) Category II Collection System Award
The City of Olathe Wastewater Collection Program receives the Category II Collection System Award for outstanding operations in the area of wastewater collection. 

National Weather Service (NWS) StormReady Designation
The City of Olathe becomes one of only six communities in Kansas and the first in Johnson County to earn the StormReady designation.

ICMA Center for Performance Measurement "Certificate of Excellence"
The City of Olathe receives the highest honor given to a city government for its efforts in performance measurement and management with the 2011 ICMA CPM Certificate of Excellence.  This is the third year for this recognition

2011 Capstone Award Program Winner-Infrastructure
Olathe was a recipient of the 2011 Capstone Award for Infrastructure. The Kansas City Business Journal's program honors outstanding real estate development projects and transactions throughout the Kansas City area. The City of Olathe won the award for the new Lone Elm Interchange. The interchange project and improvements allow access to thousands of acres of developable land, prime real estate for warehouse/distribution facilities, and is anticipated to attract private investments amounting up to $1 billion.

Diversity Advocate in Law Enforcement
Olathe Police Department Sergeant Johnny Roland is recognized as the 2011 Diversity Advocate in Law Enforcement by the MLK Legacy and Scholarship Awards Committee and the Olathe branch of the NAACP.

Martin Luther King, Jr. Legacy Award
Olathe Mayor Michael Copeland receives the Martin Luther King, Jr. Legacy Award presented by the MLK Legacy and Scholarship Awards Committee and the Olathe branch of the NAACP