What is Fair Housing?

…7 days following the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., President Lyndon Johnson signed the Civil Rights Act of 1968, the 1968 act expanded on previous acts and prohibited discrimination concerning the sale, rental, and financing of housing based on race, religion, national origin, sex, (and as amended) handicap and family status. Title VIII of the Act is also known as the Fair


Housing Act (of 1968).

The riots that spurred in over 100 cities immediately following the assassination of Dr. King coupled with the actions in Vietnam were also instrumental in helping to support the passing of the Fair Housing Act.  With the disproportionate amount of  casualties falling heaviest upon young, poor African-American and Hispanic veterans.  However, in the US, these men's families could not purchase or rent homes in certain residential developments due to their race or national origin.


What the Fair Housing Act covers:

The Act covers all types of housing intended as a short or long-term residence, including privately owned housing, housing that receives Federal financial assistance, and housing owned or operated by state and local governments.

Private Accommodations:

  • Multi-Family Dwellings (for rent/sale: apartments, condos, duplexes)
  • Single Dwelling Homes
  • HOAs (Home Owner Associations)
  • NAs (Neighborhood Associations)

Public Accommodations:

  • Hotels/Motels
  • Shelters and Transitional Housings
  • Nursing Homes
  • Manufactured Housing
  • Public Transportation

What/Who is covered under the Fair Housing Act:

race, color, religion, national origin, sex, familiar status and disability