FEMA/Floodplain Management

What is Floodplain Management?
Floodplain management is the operation of a community program of corrective and preventative measures for reducing flood damage. These measures take a variety of forms and generally include zoning, subdivision, or building requirements, and special-purpose floodplain ordinances.

Prior to the creation of the NFIP(National Flood Insurance Program), floodplain management as a practice was not well established - only a few States and several hundred communities actually regulated floodplain development. For many communities, the NFIP was the community's initial exposure to land use planning and community regulations.

A community's agreement to adopt and enforce floodplain management ordinances, particularly with respect to new construction is an important element in making flood insurance available to home and businesses owners. Currently over 20,000 communities voluntarily adopt and enforce local floodplain management ordinances that provide flood loss reduction building standards for new and existing development. To provide State and local officials program guidance on implementing the NFIP, see our "NFIP Policy Keyword Index".

In an effort to encourage communities to establish sound floodplain management programs that go beyond the NFIP minimum requirements, the Community Rating System was created.

The Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration (FIMA) at FEMA is the organization responsible for working with communities to encourage them to adopt and enforce ordinances that meet or exceed the minimum floodplain management requirements of National Flood Insurance Program

Community Rating System
The National Flood Insurance Program's (NFIP) Community Rating System (CRS) was implemented in 1990 as a program for recognizing and encouraging community floodplain management activities that exceed the minimum NFIP standards. The National Flood Insurance Reform Act of 1994 codified the Community Rating System in the NFIP. Under the CRS, flood insurance premium rates are adjusted to reflect the reduced flood risk resulting from community activities that meet the three goals of the CRS: (1) reduce flood losses; (2) facilitate accurate insurance rating; and (3) promote the awareness of flood insurance.

There are ten CRS classes: class 1 requires the most credit points and gives the largest premium reduction; class 10 receives no premium reduction. The CRS recognizes 18 creditable activities, organized under four categories numbered 300 through 600: Public Information, Mapping and Regulations, Flood Damage Reduction, and Flood Preparedness. The City of Olathe is currently a class 8.

The Public library currently has the Flood Insurance Rate Maps on file for the public to use and view.

Contact Information:

Additional Resources

FEMA Webpage
National Flood Insurance Program


City of Olathe
Dept. of Public Works
Stormwater Management Section
1385 S. Robinson St.
Olathe, KS  66061