Planning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Per Executive Order No. 20-52 masks are required to enter and remain inside City Hall. In an effort to follow social distancing guidelines during the COVID-19 pandemic, there is a limited amount of space and chairs available in the Council Chambers to accommodate the public.

The City of Olathe Planning Commission will be conducting public meetings remotely as well as in person. Members of the public are encouraged to watch the meeting live online at, or at their convenience once the meeting video is archived within hours of its conclusion.

Public Service Application

The Mayor of Olathe appoints commission members subject to confirmation by the Olathe City Council.

The purpose of the Planning Commission is to adopt and amend regulations governing subdivisions; to approve plats and recommend zoning changes.

Members serve three years.

Planning Commission Members:

  • Dean Vakas  - Chairman
  • Jeremy Fry - Vice Chairman
  • Shirley Allenbrand
  • Taylor Breen
  • Chip Corcoran
  • Ryan Freeman
  • Ryan Nelson
  • Barry Sutherland
  • Marcia Youker

Meetings are typically held on the second and fourth Monday in the City Hall Council Chamber, 100 E. Santa Fe. St., Olathe, KS.

Sometimes continuances to scheduled public hearings are necessary. Please view the Planning Commission Meeting schedule to confirm if a public hearing you are interested in is still on the agenda.

The staff liaison is the City Planning Manager, who serves as secretary for the Planning Commission, 913-971-8750.

Additional Resources

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer